Happy Mother’s Day

Dear Mom,

I never realized how much you’ve actually done for me. It took me having a child of my own to fully understand and appreciate everything you have done and continue to do.

Thank you for staying up so many nights to rock me to sleep, to comfort me when I was sick and for making the scary monsters go away. I can’t imagine how tired you must have been with three children under the age of 5. Yet, you were always full of energy and love despite the fact that you hadn’t had a full night of sleep in over 6 years.

Thank you for building me up, even when others were trying to bring me down. Last year, when I wanted to quit work because of the constant bullying, you talked to me and helped me get through it. But I never would have found that strength if you hadn’t taught me in my younger years how to rise above small people. Even as a child you always taught me to stand up for myself and not to let people walk all over me. It’s hard sometimes, because I know I’m really soft, but you always remind me that I deserve to be loved and appreciated.

Thank you for always supporting me. Emotionally, you are always there. Whether I have good news or bad news, awesome days or terrible days, smiles to tears, you are always there. You’ve also supported me financially more times than I can count. I promise one day I am sending you and dad on an awesome vacation to finally repay you!!

Thank you for teaching me how to be a good person. You taught me to swallow my pride and say sorry when I am wrong, to help others whenever I can, and to treat everyone with love and consideration. It is because of this that I am surrounded with friends who give me the exact same.

Thank you for always knowing what to say. I’m sure that sometimes I came to you with problems or fears or questions that were difficult, yet you always gave me the best advice. The best advice you ever gave me was so simple and true, “you teach people how to treat you.” I have been using this line for a long time and fall back on that advice on a very regular basis.

Thank you for being such a wonderful grandmother. You love Charlotte and when I see the two of you together, my heart melts. Watching you love her make me want to cry because it’s like I am watching you with me as a baby. It’s the most beautiful and humbling thing.

And most of all, thank you for teaching me how to be a mom. I was so scared and overwhelmed when we took Charlotte home. I didn’t know anything about taking care of a baby, but you swooped in and showed me everything. I am so grateful to you for that. I don’t know how I would have made it through those first few weeks without you by my side.

Thank you for everything Mom. I love you more than words can say. I’m blessed to have you in my life and on my side. You gave me a wonderful childhood filled with love and happiness. And as an adult, you’ve become my best friend and the one person I can count on for absolutely anything. I love you so very much and am wishing you the best mothers day ever.

xoxoxo

Love,

Katie

One thought on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Your mother is one of the most amazing women I have ever known and has helped me through more than you could imagine. She is honestly and truly a hero to so many and I will always be in awe of her sincere kindness and wisdom. I am blessed to have her as my true & life-long friend, knowing she loves me just as I am. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

