Dear Stay At Home Moms

Dear Stay At Home Moms,

You are amazing. Has anyone ever told you that? You have one of the most important jobs in the world but at times it can also be one of the most underappreciated jobs in the world. I want you to know that I appreciate you, value you and admire you. Because what you do is so very important.

I am not a stay at home mom. I am a work-away-from-the-home mom. I was a stay at home mom for a brief period, but after my maternity leave was over I went back to work. In some ways, I was sad to go back to work because it meant leaving my baby, but in other ways I was glad because it meant that I got to go back to what I knew, what I was good at, the familiar.

I’m not saying I was a terrible SAHM, because I wasn’t. I did the job to the best of my ability but I found it tough. It was hard managing a house, a baby and trying to make time for myself. This is why I admire you so much, stay at home moms. Because you are able to juggle so many tasks and priorities throughout the day.

When I am at work, I have lots of things to do. But here’s the thing; I don’t have to do them with a toddler in tow. I am able to work independently at my own pace and complete tasks to the best of my ability because I am not busy trying to entertain and occupy a tiny human. My focus is usually very high because I have minimal distractions happening while at work.

When I was a SAHM, it was so much different. Trying to feed a baby, pay bills, cook meals, do laundry and keep the house clean felt nearly impossible. It felt like I was constantly taking one step forward and three steps back. I felt like no matter how hard I tried, I simply could not get ahead. And on top of not getting ahead, there was the constant exhaustion. How do you do it, SAHMs? How do you manage to find the energy to get through each day? You are constantly busy and doing things, it’s like you’re running a marathon all day, every day. I’m not sure where you get the energy, but I know that I am very envious of it.

You’re also some of the most selfless people I have ever met, SAHMs. You are putting your career on hold to raise your children. I know that had to be an incredibly tough decision to make. Maybe some of you are staying at home because you don’t want to miss a moment with your children. Maybe some of you are staying at home because it financially makes more sense – daycare is expensive, especially if you have to send multiple children.  Or maybe you are staying at home because you also work from home. Whatever the case may be, I am sure that it was a decision that was carefully thought out and works best for you and your family.

Stay At Home Moms, you are everything. You are a chef, a maid, a bookkeeper, a nurse, a chauffeur, a handyman, a teacher, a therapist, a hairdresser, a waitress, a referee, a personal assistant and anything else your family may need, want or require.  You are amazing. Absolutely amazing.

I know you probably have days when you are overwhelmed, tired and in desperate need of a break. And I also know that sometimes, no matter how bad you want it, there is no break. It is during those times that I respect you the most. Because even though you are tired and running out of patience, you somehow still manage to keep pulling through. Even on the days when you are sick or have been up all night or are battling a migraine. Those are the days that you deserve all of the credit in the world.

I admire you, SAHMs. You are doing a job that is often undervalued  by society and can be the loneliest job in the world at times (I know, I did it too!).  I want you to know that I respect you. I value you. I think you’re extremely important. And if there was a way for me to pay you, I would. But here’s the thing; even if I could pay you, it would never be enough. Because what you do every day cannot be measured by money or materialistic goods. You are priceless. Never forget that.

All of my love and appreciation,

Katie

Leave a Reply

