Why I need wine

sippy

 

I don’t think it comes as a big surprise to anyone reading my blog that I like….okay, I mean love, wine. It has a way of making me feel relaxed and at ease and tastes like hopes and dreams and all kinds of wonderful things.

One of my (many) New Year’s Resolutions this year is too live a more healthy lifestyle. This means that wine has suddenly plummeted to the bottom of my priority list. I can’t drink my calories anymore. I want to but I’d also rather eat food instead of having a liquid diet all day! I tried a bottle of Skinny Girl wine, and in my opinion, it tasted like Tuesday mornings and sadness. I did not enjoy it at all and would actually rather not drink than have to drink that.

So, this got me thinking, where else can I find the small pleasures in life? What makes me happy and can bring me to a level of enjoyment and relaxation and can help take off the edge without costing me major calories.

Some people find yoga a great way to meditate and relax. Those people are nuts. Yoga is hard as shit and makes me like an ungraceful elephant attempting to do water ballet. I have no idea why anyone finds it relaxing. You sweat, your muscles quiver and you manipulate your body like a contortionist. Great workout, yes.  Relaxing,  um..that’s a hard no.

I have noticed lately that a lot of my friends run. It seems like a great workout and I am sure that they enjoy it, but nothing about running sounds relaxing to me. My boobs would be flying everywhere and I am really uncoordinated so I know I’d probably end up tripping over a crack in the sidewalk. Plus, really if you ever see me running you should run with me because it means something is drastically wrong and someone (or something) is chasing me.

I’ve always found that reading a book is super relaxing. But the problem with that is that I can’t just read a book. I like to read a book and eat chocolate or snack on chips or have cheese and crackers. A book without all of that is just boring. And if I’m bored, how exactly am I supposed to be relaxed? Maybe boredom and relaxation are the same thing? I have no idea but mama wants her snacks when she’s reading.

One of my most favorite ways to relax is to have a bath. I love the hot water and the bubbles. Sometimes I even take it a step or two further and use bath bombs and light a few candles. You know what the problem with that is though? A glass (or 2) of wine goes great with it.

So maybe I can’t give up wine. I think the key here is moderation.  A couple of glasses a week really isn’t that bad of a thing.  Wine makes me happy. And while you may judge me for that I really don’t care! Because if mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy!

8 thoughts on “Why I need wine

  1. You are right on point with moderation! Cutting out wine completely would be a travesty!! As far as reading, I found that having a cup of tea with a good book keeps my mouth in use without adding calories. It’s worth a shot!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

