Learning to love Valentine’s Day

FotorCreated

 

Valentine’s Day has always been one of my least favorite holidays. I think it’s because a lot of the time, I have been single on Valentine’s Day. And there is something that really sucks about being single on the most romantic and lovey-dovey day of the year.

Last year was my first Valentine’s Day as a single mom. I hate admitting it, but I felt pretty lonely and down last year. All I could think about was that I was alone again on Valentine’s Day and alone with a six month old baby. It really sucked. I wallowed in self-pity and wondered how many more Valentine’s Days I would be a single mom and alone.

This year, as the big day approaches, my attitude has changed. So what if I am a single mom on Valentine’s Day? Why does that matter? Why should I feel badly about that? Why can’t I stop and realize how lucky I am and realize how much love I have in my life.

This Valentine’s Day, I am celebrating love and the many forms it comes in.

Because I have lots of beautiful, special and extraordinary love in my life.

There is no shortage of love around me. It is absolutely everywhere I look. Every morning when I wake up, I am greeted by the most loving little face I have ever known. My daughter loves me unconditionally. She doesn’t care if my hair is a mess or if I’m not wearing makeup. It doesn’t matter to her if I say something weird or act really silly. She loves me because I am me. And I love her because she is her. It is the purest love I have ever known and it fills my heart to the absolute top with joy and happiness.

I also have deep love for my family. I have an amazing family. They are willing to do anything for me and my daughter and they have proved that time and time again. My parents are an absolute God-send and are constantly providing me and Charlotte with an abundance of love. They love us so much and we love them just as much. Their love is the kind of love I admire. And not just their love for me and Charlotte but their love for each other. They’ve taught me over my lifetime that love is not just about romance. It’s kindness, consideration and respect for each other. The older they get, the more I see the uniqueness and specialness of their love. It’s a kind I can only dream to find one day.

And while mentioning family, I need to shout out the love I have for my sisters. They are my best friends. We cheer each other on and even though we are separated by distance, we are always together through love. And I also need to mention my love for my extended family. I have amazing aunts, uncles and cousins who are complete gems and my love for them grows even bigger when I see the love they have for both me and my daughter.

I’m also celebrating the love I have for my friends. My friends are my true soul mates. I don’t see them as often as I want but that doesn’t change how I feel about them. My friends are a special group of people. They are the people I want in my life, and they want me in theirs. How lucky is that? To get to choose the people you love and to have them choose you back. That is worth celebrating.

And finally, I am celebrating my love for YOU! Yes, you. My readers. I love you all for your words of encouragement, for reaching out to me, for connecting with me, for giving me your advice and guidance and helping me believe in myself. The Internet is a big place but I’ve connected with SO many special people and my heart is full of gratitude for that. Meeting other single moms, other parents, other caregivers and other fabulous souls whom I can connect with is such a blessing.

And before I forget. I am celebrating me. Katie. I love myself. I am a work in progress and am on a path to self-acceptance and love every single day.  I love who I am and what I am becoming and the way I am shaping my life. I may not be perfect, but every day I try to be better than yesterday. And that deserves tons of self-love.

So friends, this Valentine’s Day, don’t focus on what you don’t have in your life. So what if you are single. Instead, focus on the love you do have. Make it a day to celebrate the people in your life who provide you with support and acceptance and unconditional love.

Love is everywhere you look. It comes in so many shapes and sizes and forms. It doesn’t have to fit into a perfect little box and be labeled as partner, spouse, husband, wife. It can be whatever you want it to be and can be for whomever you want it to be for.

Love big, love fiercely, and most importantly, love you. Because when you learn to love yourself first, it makes it easier to accept all of the love that people want to give you.

 

 

10 thoughts on “Learning to love Valentine’s Day

  1. Oh my gosh, I absolutely LOVE this post! Valentine’s Day is so much more than the romance or intimate times. Personally, I have always associated Valentine’s Day with kids and how much fun they have with their cards, candy, and parties. You are right on point in the fact that it should be about celebrating the love that is all around us. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. What wonderful family you have and of course the love you feel for your child is so perfect,I have 3 grown up children and they make me so proud and the love is as you described forever,I’ve also been single a few years now and the one thing I tell myself every day is that I’m a sexy beast and I’m a good person it makes me feel more loved,I live alone with my dog and I do my avon sales on my mobility scooter once a week,the reason I’m telling you this is since becoming an avon sales rep my self confidence has grown so much before I was low and lonely,I enjoy visiting my customers even if they don’t order I feel I’ve made one more friend and that to me makes it worth while,and I’ve learnt so much since working I was so low it made my disability worse,but you are such a lovely person and sorry I do chat a lot,please can we stay in touch as your site is fab,and the views and comments tell me you are a really special person and I to miss the romance of not having a partner these days of the year even just a hug would be nice but the love of our families is meant most in the world x

    Like

  3. I love posts about gratefulness and happiness! I have a gratitude series I’m writing in my diary. That said, I’ve never understood why so many people are unhappy on Valentine’s Day. I’ve always loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

