Starting fresh

face

 

Starting over. Those two little words can carry so much meaning, and for me, they are especially true right now.

There is something about September that feels fresh. It feels like the perfect time to shake everything off and find a new start and a new beginning. My new beginnings this month are quite plentiful.  I have so many things that need some new life and a breath of fresh air. My plans for this September are to:

Write more.  I’ve really neglected my blog lately. It happened innocently enough but I miss it and I want to commit some more time to it.. I don’t know if I can write a blog post every day, but I know I can do at least one a week. I’d love to do more but even a small start is something! It’s hard to find an hour to sit down and write and edit but writing is a part of who I am. Letting it go would be letting a piece of myself go, and I am not ready to do that just yet

Complain less. My life is not perfect, but it is pretty damn good. I have a roof over my head, a family that loves me, an education, a job and enough money to get me through an extended period of tough times. There are things I want and things that I don’t have, but I’ve come to realize that we cannot measure our own lives based on what others have. So what if I don’t have a house or if I’m not engaged or in a relationship? Those things do not measure my worth as a person. I have everything a person really needs, anything beyond that is a want and not having those things is really not important or worth complaining about.

Move more. It’s so easy to get caught in a rut and just want to lay around and do nothing. I’m not going to lie. I’ve been a bit down lately. But you know what always helps? Getting up and facing the day and doing things and seeing people and just getting some fresh air. The thing about being active is that I only don’t want to do it when I overthink it. As soon as I get up and go for a walk or a hike or do a yoga DVD, I never regret it. Moving and exercising are imperative to feeling good so it’s time to help both my physical and mental health by becoming more active.

Eat less. I think everyone can relate to this one. And by eating less, I don’t mean drastic calorie cutting or anything. Just more healthy, nourishing food and less convenience food. Will I still treat myself? Absolutely! Do I need to do it every single night? Probably not. But I do have to say that cupcakes and wine are always a huge temptation!

Love and appreciate everything. August was not a good month for me. A lot of stuff happened and I just felt like nothing was going my way. I didn’t get a job I was really hoping for, I thought I was buying a house but the deal fell through before the closing date and I had some personal setbacks. It was trying and it wasn’t easy. But I’ve come to realize that almost everything in life happens for a reason. Sometimes the reason isn’t clear to us or doesn’t make sense, but somehow, it all ends up working out. So going forward, whenever I face a setback or a disappointment, I’m going to try to remember that there is a bigger plan for me. And sometimes everything has to go wrong before anything can go right. And when it feels like the world is going against you, it’s important to love and appreciate who and what you have. I may not have everything, but I am rich in comparison to lots of people.

September is going to be my month. I am going to move forward with an onward and upward attitude. My life is worth living and worth celebrating and worth being thankful for. I will continue to make mistakes and mess up and make the wrong choices, but at the end of the day I can always dust myself off and promise to start over and start fresh. And even if I stumble and falter and fall flat on my face, it doesn’t matter. After all, falling flat on your face is still moving forward 🙂

Wishing you all a beautiful and happy month! ❤

 

 

Leave a Reply

